Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Toms Set to Defend PGA Title

Mar 01, 2012 03:41PM ● By tina

FORT WORTH, TX - About one-third of the field for the 2012 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial is taking shape, and many top PGA TOUR champions will be chasing the tournament’s Leonard Trophy and $6.4 million purse. Defending champion David Toms heads the list, and will face several tournament winners from the young 2012 season. Public ticket sales for the event begin this week.

Already committing early to the tradition-rich championship are 2012 winners Mark Wilson, Johnson Wagner, John Huh and Brandt Snedeker. Other top players also indicating their intention to compete at Colonial include Jim Furyk, Jonathan Byrd, Vijay Singh, Ryan Palmer, Jeff Overton, Ben Crane, Robert Allenby, Bo Van Pelt and others. About 120 total players are expected to play in the event.

Toms won the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial in 2011 after a dramatic chip-in eagle at the 11th hole on Sunday that propelled him to victory. It was his 13th career win, and he claimed that it “certainly means more to me than any other victory.”

Hospitality and Pro-Am packages are on sale now, and public tickets go on sale March 1. For more information, visit Crowne Plaza Invitational or call the Colonial Ticket Office at 817.927.4280. One-day tickets for any day, Wednesday through Sunday, are $45 each. A $15 one-day Youth Ticket for young teens will also be available. Children 12 and under are admitted free of charge. Grounds passes good for the entire week cost $100.

The full list of early commitments (Total: 42) as of February 24, 2012 is:

Fulton Allem                  Fredrik Jacobson                 John Rollins
Robert Allenby               Brandt Jobe                          John Senden
Kris Blanks                    Zach Johnson                      Vijay Sing
Jonathan Byrd               Jerry Kelly                              Brandt Snedeker
Kevin Chappell             Chris Kirk                               Kevin Stadler
Keith Clearwater          Spencer Levin                       Scott Stallings
Ben Crane                     George McNeill                     Henrik Stenson
Brian Davis                    Bryce Molder                         Kevin Streelman
Brendon de Jonge       Jeff Overton                           David Toms
Steve Flesch                  Ryan Palmer                        Cameron Tringale
Jim Furyk                        Rod Pampling                      Bo Van Pelt
Tommy Gainey              Carl Pettersson                   Johnson Wagner
Robert Garrigus            D. A. Points                           Jimmy Walker
Paul Goydos                  Nick Price                              Charlie Wi
Charley Hoffman           Chez Reavie                         Mark Wilson
John Huh