Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Carroll ISD Announces Teachers of the Year

May 14, 2014 09:06AM ● By 16560
The Carroll ISD Administration released the list of Campus Teachers of the Year that will be recognized at the district's annual End of Year Celebration at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 28 at Carroll Senior High School.

The celebration brings together all Dragon employees for an afternoon of awards and celebrations marking the end of the school year, according to

Eleven Carroll ISD Campus Teachers of the Year were announced, including David Lown, Carroll Senior High School; Jennifer Wunderlich, Carroll High School; Rebecca Colvin, Carroll Middle School and Jared Sutton, Dawson Middle School. This year’s K-6 campus teachers of the year are: Melissa Bailey, Durham Intermediate School; Colleen Aldridge, Eubanks Intermediate School; Reigan O’Quinn, Carroll Elementary; Meredith Schneider, Johnson Elementary; Josie Smith, Rockenbaugh Elementary; Shelley Alonzo, Old Union Elementary and Kelli Anne Connell, Walnut Grove Elementary.

Every year, each of the district's 11 schools select one teacher who best represents Carroll's mission, vision and values throughout the year. The teachers are chosen by their coworkers. 

To compete for this recognition, each of the Campus Teachers of the Year must complete a comprehensive award application. An awards committee, made up of district employees, parents and School Board Trustees will select the top two individuals to represent the district in the Region XI Teacher of the Year contest.

The End of Year Celebration will be emceed by Superintendent Dr. David Faltys and will include CISD Administration and members of the Board of Trustees.

The event is made possible by businesses and individuals that contribute Carroll ISD’s We Care program and district sponsors Central Market Southlake and Park Place Motors.