Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Over 80 CISD Seniors Recognized by National Merit Program

Oct 22, 2014 09:56AM ● By Amy

82 of CISD's brightest gathered for breakfast to celebrate their recognition as National Merit Semifinalists

A record 22 Carroll Senior High School students were named National Merit Semifinalists, and 46 received the honor of being named to the Commended Students list in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. In addition, 14 other students were recognized in the National Hispanic Recognition Program. In total, these 82 individuals were applauded for their success this morning at a special breakfast.

CSHS Principal Shawn Duhon led the informal gathering of students and their parents. “These 82 students have done a phenomenal job putting Carroll Senior High School on the map. We wanted to celebrate these students and their parents to show gratitude for what they do.”

The semi-finalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million, which will be offered next spring. Students recognized as commended placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the 2013 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Senior Anthony Munson was named a National Achievement Program for Black Americans Semifinalist in addition to being one of the 46 National Merit Program Commended Students. Also, Senior Kamal Phelps was named one of the National Achievement Program for Black Americans Outstanding Participants. Kamal scored in the top three percent of more than 160,000 Black Americans who took the PSAT in October of 2013.

Assistant Superintendent for Student Services J.J. Villarreal was also in attendance. “This is what you will be talking about at your high school reunions 10, 20, even 30 years from now —it will never be watered down. You make CISD what it is; you set the pace for excellence!”

Semifinalist Students:
Jarod Chaney
Anthony Chen
Kelly Danner
Mallory Dyson
John Everett
Michael Everett
Christina Gilchrest
Maher Gill
Elizabeth Hill
Azhar Hussain
Olivia Jolley
Lauren Jones
Soham Majmudar
Kylie McBride
Kyle McCall
Hira Nazim
Matthew Prost
Ansel Richards
Elijah Snow
Zachary Susskind
Kelsey Taeckens
Philip Venesky

Commended Students:
Alexandra Adams
Zain Aziz
Jackson Bicart
Hunter Black
Cooper Carnahan
Matthew Chagnot
Kaleigh Cobb
Brandon Everett
Caroline Freden
Zachary Froehlich
Gian Giger
Chandler Groves
Julianna Grubbs
Bailey Guess
Emma Harding
James Harvey
Stacy Heitman
Emily Helm
Brady Hunter
Jacob Ireland
David Jenkins
Ishret Kang
Luke Lanham
Christian Lumley
Lindsey Marincasiu
Emma Martin
Alexandria Miles
Keefe Minahan
Anthony Munson
Keya Patel
Katherine Pearson
Skye Pekerti
Shannon Pemberton
Brandon Pena
Julia Perry
Ganesh Setty
Katherine Shepherd
Hannah Smith
Melanie Stolze
Victoria Tew
Natalie Veiga
Brandon Vu
Lauren Watford
Christian Westerberg
Deyuan Zhang
Fatima Zuberi

Hispanic Recognition Program:
Benjamin Wireman
Benjamin Fernandez
Brandon Pena
Brendan Skolnik
David Jenkins
Eric Karl II
Harrison Petrovich
Joe Morillo
Joshua Helton
Lauren Jones
Lucas Brolley
Madeleine O’Brian
Matthew Chagnot
Natalie Veiga