Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Laura Hill, Carolyn Morris to Run in Mayoral Election this May

Mar 03, 2015 09:59AM ● By Amy
Mayor Pro Tem Laura Hill and City Council Member Place 2 Carolyn Morris will oppose each other to replace the term limited Mayor John Terrell after six successful years in office.

Laura Hill was elected to City Council in 2004 and has served in a variety of capacities: Place 1 (2004-2011) and Place 5 (2013-present). She has also been Mayor Pro Tem (2010-2011 and 2014-present) and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem (2009-2010). She is the founder of Students and Parents Against Risks to our Kids (SPARK) and currently she sits on the Metroport Teen Court Advisory Board. In addition to her work as a city official, Laura is involved in variety of community service organizations. She is a graduate of both the Southlake Citizen's Academy and the Citizens Emergency Response Team (CERT). Locally, she serves on the Board of Directors for the Chamber of Commerce Executive Board, and she is a co-founder of the Students and Athletes Serving Others (SASO).

Carolyn Morris has served on Place 2 of Southlake’s city council since 2009. Prior to that, she served on Place 6 from 2002-2008. She has also been Deputy Mayor Pro Tem (2004-2006) and Mayor Pro Tem (2006-2008). She sits on the Southlake 2030 Committee, and currently works with such groups as the Southlake Parks and Development Corporations and Southlake Arts Council. In addition to her work as a city official, Carolyn is involved in community service organizations. She is a founding member of the APEX Arts League and serves as an Executive Board member. Locally, she formally sat on the board of directors for the Bob Jones Nature Center and is very involved in the North Texas Chapter of the Polycystic Kidney (PKD) Foundation—she is the chapter coordinator.