Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Southlake Carroll Lacrosse Declared the Top Program in Texas

May 20, 2015 03:06PM ● By Audrey Sellers

2015 seniors show off the Bob Patterson Trophy

The men's high-school Dragon lacrosse team has been deemed the best in Texas. The team was awarded the Bob Patterson Trophy and recognition as the state’s top program. The annual award, presented by the Southwest Lacrosse Officials Association (SWLOA) membership, recognizes the top Texas men’s high-school program for their sportsmanship, quality of play, respect for the game’s character, and the honor that they bring to the sport. 

Tim Cagney, President of the Dallas/Ft. Worth chapter of SWLOA, presented the trophy along with the awards namesake, Bob Patterson, a former President and Chief Referee of the SWLOA, at the Dragons’ year-end banquet. 

Cagney shared that: “Members of the SWLOA, who officiate games throughout the entire state of Texas, nominate and select which teams exhibit high levels of sportsmanship, respect for the game, determination, team spirit and quality of play.” 

He thanked the players, coaches and parents saying that they “are raising their players with integrity and respect both on and off the field.”

The award honors the long-time service of Bob Patterson, who has personally experienced the dramatic growth of lacrosse in his 47 years of involvement in high- school and collegiate lacrosse.

Patterson stated: “When the mark is called against your name, the mark’s not that you won or lost, but how you played the game. Southlake Carroll played the game with sportsmanship and integrity.”

Each player received a medal, and the Southlake Carroll Lacrosse Association (SCLA) has a trophy that will be displayed at Carroll Senior High School.

In other year-end awards, Junior Defenseman Jack Welding repeated as one of just 16 2015 All-American awards for the state of Texas. Receiving North District Honorable mention awards were: Senior Midfielder Michael Cox; Juniors Midfielder Dean DiBello and Defenseman Nathan Beam; and Sophomores Goalie Luke Millican and Attackman Casey Wasserman.

Senior Zachary Bach, who plans to play lacrosse at the University of North Texas, won the 2015 SCLA Scholarship.

A banquet ended with Varsity Head Coach Bart Sullivan recapping the careers of the other seniors including Michael Cox (Sienna College), Brennan Mollere (Texas A&M), Taylor Iniguez (Texas Tech), Josh Sommerhalder (Baylor University), and Alex Barnes (University of Texas – Tyler).