Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Twenty-Two Dragons Named National Merit Semifinalists

Sep 19, 2017 08:16AM ● By Audrey Sellers

Carroll ISD is well represented in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC). Twenty-two Dragons have been recognized as Semifinalists and will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million. About 16,000 students—less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors—get the marks to become Semifinalists.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the information provided to each Semifinalist.

“Carroll ISD takes great pride in the academic excellence provided to our students in CISD,” said Gina Peddy, Carroll ISD Executive Director of Curriculum and Instruction, in a story on “We are very proud and honored to be able to work with these outstanding students. Additionally, we would like to thank our parents and teachers for helping our students accomplish this honor. By working together, we can accomplish great things.”

Congratulations to Carroll ISD’s National Merit Semifinalists:

Hira Asim
Sriram Avirneni
Adrienne Brown
Malini Chandra
Whitney Chaney
Camilla Cox
Arman Dave
Kyle Fondon
Edward Hill
Suyash Jain
Hannah Javens
Samuel Ma
Myron Mageswaran
Aman Patel
Taylor Reusche
Dylan Riordan
Amelia Rusli
Connor Rutledge
Logan Stelling
Alice Tsai
Madelyn Tung
Zan Weng