Skip to main content

Southlake Style

2017 5-6A All-District Football Team Announced

Dec 18, 2017 12:42PM ● By Mike

2017 Defensive Captains L to R: Matty Werner, Jacob Doddridge and Ryan Thompson.

District 5-6A showed its competitive nature yet again in 2017. The Trinity Trojans took the district title followed by Hebron and Carroll respectfully.  Together the trio led the charge into the UIL Playoffs with Trinity (11-3) and Carroll (10-4) making lengthy runs to the quarterfinals. 

At the culmination of the season the 5-6A All-District Teams were announced. Hebron quarterback Clayton Tune took home district MVP honors while Trinity running back Courage Keihn was named Offensive MVP.  

Carroll Dragon defensive captain Jacob Doddridge (48) catches a touchdown. Doddridge was a unanimous 1st Team All-District selection on both offense and defense.  Photo by S. Johnson/

 Led by Jacob Doddridge who was a unanimous first team selection as both a tight end and a defensive end, the Dragons were recognized with 24 All-District honorees.  

In addition to Doddridge, Dragon first team offensive selections included; quarterback Will Bowers, running back TJ McDaniel, receivers Cade Bell and Hudson Shrum, offensive linemen Jackson Kimble, Henry Mossberg, and Matthew Leehan.

First team All-District defensive selections included safety R.J. Mickens, linebackers Michael Parrish and Ryan Thompson, and the aforementioned Doddridge.

The future appears to be bright for Wasson’s 2018 squad as a majority of the honorees were underclassmen. In total 13 Dragon juniors and sophomores made the list led by four unanimous first-team selections in Henry Mossberg, TJ McDaniel, Michael Parrish and RJ Mickens.

For the entire list of 5-6A All-District Honorees click here.

2017 5-6A All-District Honors

1st Team Offense
#72 Jackson Kimble – OT (Sr)
#76 Henry Mossberg – OT (Jr)
#48 Jacob Doddridge TE (Sr)
#55 Matthew Leehan – C (Sr)
#6 Cade Bell – WR (Sr)
#7 Hudson Shrum – WR (Sr)
#4 TJ McDaniel – RB (Jr)
#14 Will Bowers – QB (Jr)

1st Team All-District Defense
#41 Michael Parrish – LB (So)
#32 Ryan Thompson – LB (Sr)
#48 Jacob Doddridge – DE (Sr)
#10 RJ Mickens – S (So)

2nd Team All-District
#65 Cameron Hataway – OL (Jr)
#68 Andrej Karic – OL (So)
#39 Matty Werner – LB (Sr)
#34 Graham Faloona – LB (So)
#13 Jake Fex – S (So)

All-District Honorable Mention
#21 Hayden Hayes CB (Sr)
#5 Wills Meyer – WR (So)
#93 Alex Kingston – DE (Jr)
#43 Preston Forney – TE (So)
#11 Darryl Crockett – WR (Sr)
#23 Joe DeVincenzo – CB (Sr)
#9 Carson White – WR (Jr)