Skip to main content

Southlake Style

1st Down Club of DFW Recognizes Three Dragons as Awards Finalists

Jan 19, 2018 03:31PM ● By Maleesa Johnson

After an incredibly competitive season, it should come as no surprise that Dragon football players are getting some recognition. 

Top football players and their coaches from the Dallas-Fort Worth area –from as far north as Wichita Falls and as far south as Waco – are nominated annually for honors at the 1st Down Club of DFW awards dinner held at the Mansfield Center for Performing Arts.  A committee of Texas high school coaches selected 10 finalists in each of three categories: offense, defense and academic achievement. Southlake Carroll was one of only two schools that had finalists in all three categories, the other being Mansfield Legacy High School.

Carroll senior center Matthew Leehan was among the finalists for Offensive Player of the Year. Representing Dragon talent on the other side of the scrimmage line, senior linebacker Ryan Thompson was a finalist for Defensive Player of the Year. Finally, for his success on and off of the field, senior defensive end/fullback Jacob Doddridge, was a finalist for Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

Southlake Carroll Dragons are not strangers to being honored by the 1st Down Club of DFW. In 2012, head coach Hal Wasson was awarded Coach of the Year and former Dragon Kenny Hill was named Offensive Player of the Year.