Skip to main content

Southlake Style

Dragon Football Players Honored for All-District Performance

Dec 11, 2018 12:27PM ● By Mike

While other area teams were firing through offseason workouts and fine-tuning their systems at the beginning of last year, Carroll ISD was interviewing head coaches and athletic directors.

When all was said and done, newly minted head coach Riley Dodge had to scramble yet again—this time to put together his own coaching staff in time for summer workouts. To say the least, the 2018 Dragons had some catching up to do.

Dodge successfully rallied his coaches, players and the community behind an improbable 13-1 campaign making it all the way to the State UIL Quarterfinals and peaking with a No. 24 national ranking.

The season is over. The work has been done. What follows is the recognition of many team and individual accolades (also see our regular 2018 Dragon Pride Players of the Week).

The following 33 Dragons were selected to the 2018 All-District 5-6A Team.


Most Valuable Player — RB —TJ McDaniel Unanimous
         2,062 yards rushing, 33 TDs and 2018 Landry Award Winner
Offensive Player of the Year — QB —Will Bowers
         2,556 yards passing, 20 TDs, 550 yards rushing, 8 TDs
Defensive Player of the Year — LB —Michael Parrish
         80 tackles, 7 sacks, 6 blocked kicks
Utility Player of the Year — DB/WR — RJ Mickens
         57 tackles, 2 INTs, 43 receptions, 643 yards 3 TDs
Coaching Staff of the Year — Carroll Dragons, HC Riley Dodge

1st Team Offense
TE- Blake Smith – Unanimous
WR – Glenn Mitchell
Center – Addison Penn – Unanimous
Guard – Cameron Hataway – Unanimous
Tackle – Henry Mossberg – Unanimous
Tackle – Andrej Karic
Kicker – Joe McFadden

1st Team Defense
Tackle – Alex Kingston – Unanimous
Tackle – Quentin Bunten
End – Colton Hunter
Inside Linebacker – Preston Forney – Unanimous
Outside Linebacker – Conner Patterson – Unanimous
Safety – Ben Furgal
Corner – Brandon Howel

2nd Team Offense
RB – Eli Furgal
WR – Carson White
WR – John Manero
Guard – Brandon Barrasso

2nd Team Defense
Inside Linebacker –Graham Faloona

Honorable Mention
WR – Eric Windham
WR – Julian Roe
Linebacker – Sam Matin
Linebacker – Cameron Shoupp
Defensive Tackle– Dillion Springer
Defensive Back – James Miscoll
Defensive Back – Griffin Gumm
Defensive Back – Spencer Simon
Defensive Back – Dylan Thomas
Kicker – Neal Koskay